Saturday, June 15, 2024

Weirton’s Peterson wins amateur golf tourney

Must read

Howie Peterson IV won his third Bordas & Bordas Classic golf tournament Sunday by one stroke over Cole Hand at the Crispin Golf Course inside Oglebay Park. Peterson IV shot a two-day total of 131. He also won in 2021 and 2022, and finished second in 2023 by, ironically, one shot. — Kim North

WHEELING — Weirton resident Howie Peterson IV returned to the winner’s circle Sunday with a one-shot victory as the two-day Bordas & Bordas Classic Amateur Golf Tournament came to a thrilling conclusion on the sun-soaked Crispin Course inside Oglebay Park.

The Madonna and West Liberty grad and golfing standout fired rounds of 64 and 67 to hold off Wheeling’s Cole Hand, 131-132. Hand shot 64 and 68, missing a chance to draw even on the final hole. Peterson IV also won in 2021 and 2022, but finished second to Bryan Myers in last spring’s event.

“I gave it my all last year and it wasn’t good enough, so this year I wasn’t sure it was going to be good enough, but it turned out to be,” Peterson IV said. “I played well today, and so did Cole.”

“I just wanted to continue today what I did yesterday (Saturday),” Peterson IV said. “I’ve been there before, obviously, having won before, so the nerves weren’t quite there, but being a co-leader, you’re still a little nervous and don’t want to make any mistakes early.”

He said winning before allowed him to relax.

“I just tried to not press it early on. I might have been close in 2020 and pressed a little too much,” he noted. “I learned around here you don’t have to do that. Just let it come to you. With that said, I didn’t try to get real crazy and play conservative, but at the same time still be aggressive”

Larry Lis Jr. and Kyle Wensel both carded 135s to tie for third, with Mike Wetzel’s 136 good enough for fourth. Justin Doerr, Adam Gill and Noah Milhoan all shot 138 for a sixth-place deadlock.

Gill, a senior-to-be at Linsly, also won the junior division. St. Clairsville golfers took the next three spots as Brodi Foster was second at 143; Andrew Able third with a 153; and Mavrik Malin fourth at 154. Wheeling’s Andrew Pennybacker was fifth at 156.

George Templin defeated Mike Pietranton in a playoff to win the senior flight. Both players shot 70-70 over the two days. Richard Humphrey was third at 142, one shot better than Bob McCracken and two ahead of Bob Clark.

Nick Zaller won the first flight with a 147, which was also one shot better than Broc Crist and Nathan Young. Zack Hood, Nick Oswald and Noah Wilson all carded 149s.

In the best-ball championship flight, George Templin and Mike Wetzel won in a three-way playoff over Justin Doerr and Kyle Wensel and Cole Hand and Chris Slack. All three teams shot 124s.

Keith Phillips and Kent Swinehart captured the senior best-ball in a playoff against Richard Humphrey and Mike Mazure. Both shot 135s.

The first flight best-ball was also decided in a playoff as the team of Eric Banal and Logan Grimm won a playoff over Kaleb Evans and Tyson Spence. Both teams carded 138s.

Today’s breaking news and more in your inbox

Latest article